Skip to content


We’re not in any way affiliated with the Fei World Equestrian Games!

The World Equestrian Games were a major two-week equestrian event held every four years in eight different equestrian disciplines in one location. The original disciplines were jumping, dressage, driving, eventing, vaulting and endurance. Later on, cleaning and dressage for the disabled were added. These games are administered by the Fédération Equestre Internationale (FEI).


The World Equestrian Games were organized for the first time in 1990 on the initiative of Prince Philip. The prince was chairman of the Fédération Equestre Internationale in the 1980s. These first games were held in Stockholm, Sweden.

The second time the Netherlands was allowed to organize the games, that was in 1994 in The Hague. Here Anky van Grunsven won her first international title: she was the first Dutch world champion. The games were held in Rome in 1998. The fourth time, in 2002, they were held in Jerez de la Frontera (Spain), where a seventh discipline was added, the reining.

The fifth World Equestrian Games were held in Aachen, Germany from August 20 to September 3, 2006. These games were very successful for the Dutch riders. Anky van Grunsven achieved silver and gold in dressage. The Dutch men’s team, consisting of Jeroen Dubbeldam with Up and Down, Gerco Schröder with Eurocommerce Berlin, Albert Zoer with Okidoki and finalist Piet Raijmakers with Curtis, became world champions in jumping. IJsbrand Chardon won silver in the four-in-hand teams and the Dutch team bronze. The Belgian team also achieved the necessary successes: Felix Marie Brasseur became world champion in the four-in-hand teams, the country team won silver and Jos Lansink won the individual jumping with the gray Cumano. As with the previous four editions, the medal classification was won by Germany. In-house they obtained gold six times, silver once and bronze four times.

In 2010, the World Equestrian Games were held in Lexington in the United States. The main title, that of the show jumping, went to Belgium for the second time in a row: Philippe Le Jeune succeeded his fellow countryman Jos Lansink.

In 2014, the World Equestrian Games took place in Normandy, France. The event ceased to exist immediately in 2018, after no candidate had registered for the 2022 edition.


Year Host City
1990 Stockholm, Sweden
1994 The Hague, Netherlands
1998 Rome, Italy
2002 Jerez de la Frontera, Spain
2006 Aachen, Germany
2010 Lexington, USA
2014 Normandy, France
2018 Tryon, United States
2022 ??



Car, Motor, Transport



Eat & Drink

Financial & Money


House & Living

Internet & Telephony

Jewelers & Jewelry

Clothing & Fashion

Education & Study


Phone & Mobile

Holiday offers

Work & Vacancies